Lost Love

I thought I’d found the one at last
The one who could fix me
But good things never come my way
Like the girl across the sea 
Before our ship could reach the port
It sank and now is lost 
I shouldn’t have hesitated 
It was me that should have crossed 
You’ve got to take control of things 
And grab opportunities with both hands
Instead a heart that should be full of love
Lays empty upon the sands
Wilted and shrivelled 
Cracked and broken 
Here lies the love 
That’s been left unspoken
Before it had time
To blossom and grow 
Before I had time 
To let my heart show 
What could have been 
Or what could be 
With the most beautiful girl
My sweet Rose of Tralee

Leave a Reply

