Father

Cast your eye span the tranquil green

Through sun kissed mists of morn

Onward to a place you knew

To the hamlet where you were born

Your father on his death bed 

Your mother by his side

Nobody else to turn to

No siblings left alive 

So spur on your horse 

Not a moment to waste 

He’s hours to live 

God speed and make haste

A secret he’d tell you now his time has come

You arrive there’s your mother she looks numb she looks glum

‘Am I too late?’ you cry as you dismount your horse

Your mother’s eyes tell you that the answer’s of course

You were so close, so near but just out of reach

Now you’ll never know the secret of what was to be his last speech

22 thoughts on “Father

    1. syd7t5 says:

      Really? Cool. It’s a little different as you know to my usual poems but I’m really pleased with it too and think I will write some similar style ones at some point! Thanks for your vote of confidence again! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. syd7t5 says:

        It didn’t show what I typed a colon followed by a bracket and a semi colon followed by a bracket for a wink. Don’t think it comes up like mine though. πŸ˜€πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜œ

        Like

      2. syd7t5 says:

        Try the curved bracket but it’s not showing like mine. Think you can only do that on your phone if you have emojis. I’m really not sure! πŸ˜„πŸ˜›πŸ˜‹

        Like

      3. syd7t5 says:

        Yeah that would work! I come on here when I’m at work it out and about and write on my phone too when I’m out. I’ve just got myself a new laptop so I’d best get some use out of it! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

