Future love

Are we looking at the same stars? 

Are we feeling the same breeze?

Are we in the same country?

Or are you overseas?

Have you served me in a restaurant?

Or sold me my newest book? 

Did you catch my eye that once? 

Did I forget to really look? 

Are you someone who’ll be new to me?

Or someone I’ve known for years?

Are we in the same continent?

Or in different hemispheres?

Will I always be alone?

Or is there someone out there for me?

Are you hiding in the shadows?

Out of sight so I can’t see. 

9 thoughts on “Future love

    1. syd7t5 says:

      This made me laugh for some reason. Sorry. Maybe not in this life but perhaps another you did? Who knows? Thank you for reading and I’ll be sure to return the favour! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  1. sueashby7 says:

    This one captured me in the first two lines. I can relate to questioning, at the risk of tempting fate when it comes to love. The last two lines wrap it up with so much loneliness. Your sentiments are beautiful, and familiar to me. I really like that. The photograph you chose is also a winner!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ZenLikeFuck says:

    Ah I see you have prospects of love over continents! (Just kidding) But it happens so often, you run into an absolute stranger and yet you feel like you’ve known them for years. More so with love! They say opposites attract but I think it’s quote the opposite. It was hard to miss the hint of longing in your lines, I could sense a slight tinge of sadness. Is it just me? Nonetheless, I loved every word!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

