Lonely night

Sometimes I think I can feel your heart beating, I’m sure it’s next to mine

 But all I can hear is the rain at the window, but I remember it’s in time

Sometimes I think I feel your breath on my cheek, but I remember where I am

It’s just the breeze from above my bed, coming from the ceiling fan

Sometimes I think I can hear your voice, softly calling to me

But it’s only someone walking past, or someone on the TV

Sometimes I think I feel your touch, not heavy, just a caress

But it’s only my imagination due, to this prolonged loneliness 

8 thoughts on “Lonely night

  1. anitalubesh says:

    I used to write a lot of rhymed verse but lost my appetite for it and reading some of it. Here I found this melded with the subject matter and wasn’t forced, it flowed and had a good rhythm. You would be a good candidate to try internal rhyming, with not so much (in some cases) staid end rhyme – you seem able enough. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

