NapoWriMo Day Seven: Tritina

Prompt for Day Seven is to write a tritina. Again I had no idea what this was until I read the following. The tritina is a shorter cousin to the sestina, involving three, three-line stanzas, and a final concluding line. Three “end words” are used to conclude the lines of each stanza, in a set pattern of ABC, CAB, BCA, and all three end words appear together in the final line.
To help with this challenge I asked a friend to choose three random words. They chose horse, midnight, and Thailand.

Hunted for sport, on a galloping horse
See the border, on the stroke of midnight
To find my freedom in Thailand

Or my death, before I touch Thailand?
Twang, an arrow; penetrates my horse
She falls, I fall, world dark as midnight

We never made it past Midnight
We never made the paradise of Thailand
Whinnys and cries from my dying horse

Horse still, midnight looms near Thailand

2 thoughts on “NapoWriMo Day Seven: Tritina

Leave a Reply

