NapoWriMo 2016: Day Three 

Today, let’s turn our vision outward, and write fan letters. I challenge you to write a poem in the form of a fan letter to a celebrity. Now, this could be a celebrity from long ago, and needn’t be an actor or singer (though it could be). You could write to George Washington or Dorothy Dandridge, Marie Curie or The Weeknd. Happy writing!

So today I’m going to write a poem, not a fan letter, with the help of my favourite band The Cold War Kids using the titles of some of their songs.

                                                                         Bitter poem 

Welcome to the occupation all you golden gate jumpers

Let me remind you that every valley is not a lake

I’ve seen enough and so have a million eyes

Something is not right with me, cryptomnesia I think

you and this audience 

were the first to hang me up to dry in these hospital beds

I’ve had dreams old men dream especially on the night my love broke through

Let’s skip the charades and finally begin the miracle mile

We used to vacation and let our hair down being louder than ever

God, make up your mind and stop passing the hat

I hope you tell me in the morning

So I can get some relief from these Mexican dogs

Every man I fall for is a sensitive kid

Out of the wilderness like a bulldozer he comes with his bottled affection

And leaves me broken open and royal blue 

With my cold toes on the cold floor

The fear and trembling are lost that easy in this loner phase

All this could be yours all you have to do is go quietly or drive desperate to a hotel anywhere

Don’t look down on me when you’re flying upside down in your tuxedo 

Saint John will tell you it’s against privacy

Goodnight Tennessee 




Leave a Reply

